+7 499 112-05-69Moscow
+44 20 3519-7672London
+38 044 379-30-62Kiev

REGISTRATION OF THE INVESTMENT FUND ON THE BRITISH VIRGIN ISLANDS (BVI)

Offshore jurisdictions are still attracting the attention of owners of different types of business with their loyal attitude to tax issues and almost complete lack of regulation.

Nevertheless, in the world of finance the British Virgin Islands (BVI) is one of the most popular jurisdictions for the registration of investment funds. In this article, we will review the main types of funds, as well as the advantages and disadvantages of each.

Without doubts with a question of choosing a jurisdiction for the establishing a fund it is better to apply to experienced professionals for legal assistance.

According to the BVI legislation that regulates the process of registration and licensing of funds, four main types of funds can be distinguished:

1) BVI Incubator Fund, for which no administrator, investment manager, prime broker/depositary or auditor is required. For an incubation fund, the number of investors is limited (no more than twenty, which must be qualified), and the maximum amount of assets that may be in the management of the fund should not exceed 20,000,000 USD. The term of the license cannot exceed two years, while the license can be renewed for a maximum of 12 months.

2) BVI Approved Fund. This type of fund also does not require an investment manager, prime broker/depositary or auditor, but there is a requirement for the availability of a licensed administrator. Investors do not necessarily need to be qualified, but their total amount should not exceed twenty, and the total amount of assets that the fund can manage should not exceed 100,000,000 USD.

Any help in choosing the jurisdiction for your fund needed?

Call us on +38 (044) 379-30-62 

Write us info@sb-sb-com

3) BVI professional fund can manage an unlimited amount of assets, for this type of fund there are no restrictions on the amount of investors. However, such a fund should appoint an investment manager (except for the cases of obtaining exemption), prime broker/depositary, as well as auditor and administrator. The minimum investment size should be at least USD 100,000. In addition, investors must sign declarations confirming their qualifications as "professional investors" (that their net annual income is 1 000 000 USD or more).

4) A private fund can manage an unlimited amount of assets, there are no requirements for a minimum subscription size (minimal investment), but as well as in a professional fund, it is required to appoint an investment manager (except for the cases of getting a release); prime broker/depositary, as well as auditor and administrator. For a private fund, the following restrictions are provided: the total number of shareholders cannot exceed 50 or the number of invitations to investors who are invited to invest in the fund cannot exceed three hundred. In this case, the directors of the fund will have to confirm that such invitations were made exclusively in private order.

ORGANIZATIONAL AND LEGAL FORM OF THE PRIVATE AND PROFESSIONAL BVI FUND

The most common fund in the BVI is a professional fund, which can count an unlimited number of investors and enjoy a special exemption from authorization, i.e. the fund may start its activity before the permission from the BVI Financial Services Regulatory Commission (hereinafter the Commission) is received, provided that the application for authorization is submitted to the Commission within 14 days fromstart of its activity.

The fund can be registered in the form of a company, partnership or unit trust. The general requirement is the presence of a minimum of two directors, who must be individuals. At the same time, there are no requirements for the residency of directors, which meaning that a resident of any statecan becomea director of the fund, with the exception of those with which the BWO does not cooperate, for example, countries from the FATF list.

You may be interested in publications:

1. Registration of the hedge fund (Opening of the investment fund)

2. Hedge funds in Europe. Malta

3. Registration of Investment fund in Cyprus

Usually the fund issues two types of shares: voting, preferred shares, that do not entitle to a share of profits, but presuppose the receipt of fixed dividends (voting, non-participating share class), and non-voting, participating (participating class). Voting shares are issued in the name of the investment manager to ensure control over shareholders, which also impliesthe appointment of directors, payment of dividends (if applicable), voluntary liquidation. Non-voting shares are issued to investors and participate in the company's assets upon redemption, distribution (if applicable) or liquidation.

It should also be noted that when organizing a fund for the BVI there is no need to open a physical office, it will be sufficient to appoint an official representative who will act as an intermediary in the communication between the fund and the BVI Financial Services Regulatory Commission and will be authorized to receive documents and notifications on behalf of the fund.

The fund must submit financial statements to the Commission annually not later than 6 months from the end of the fiscal year. Tax reporting is filed annually by January 31 of each year.

In addition, the fund is obliged to notify the Commission about any changes in the structure of directors, shareholders, etc. within 14 days.

FEATURES OF THE AUTHORIZED FUND AND INCUBATOR FUND

The main advantage of the incubator fund is a significant savings on its organization and maintenance, since, unlike private or professional funds, there are no requirements for appointing an auditor and administrator. A possible disadvantage of the fund is the restriction on the number of investors, which must be no more than twenty, and the minimum investment for each investor should be 20,000 USD.

Another drawback of this type of fund is its limited duration. As mentioned above, the incubator fund can operate for no more than three years (subject to the extension of the permit after two years). At the end of this period, the incubator fund must either be transformed into an authorized fund, a private or professional fund, or cease its activities.

As for the authorized fund, the term of its activity is not limited, but there is requirement to appoint an administrator, and it is limited to twenty investors and the total assets of the fund should not exceed 100,000,000 USD. Nevertheless, an authorized fund represents a savings compared to private and professional funds, since it does not require an auditor and an easier closing procedure is provided for the authorized fund.

Both an authorized fund and an incubator fund can be transformed into a private or professional fund after exceeding the established limits on assets. For these types of funds, it is also not necessary to draw up a proposal for the placement of securities, and in the event of its absence, a written investment warning must be sent to each investor.

In addition, there are no requirements for the filing of tax reports for the incubator fund and the authorized fund. Nevertheless, they are required to maintain and submit unaudited financial statements. Such funds are required only to notify the Commission about the changes that occur in the structure of the fund itself.

Just like private and professional funds, authorized funds and incubator funds should appoint a local representative to the BVI.

FEES AND TERMS OF ESTABLISHING A FUND ON THE BVI

The terms of registration of the fund in the BVI can vary quite a lot depending on many factors. On average, the procedure can take from 3 to 10 months.

If you want to establish a fund on BVI, please feel free to contact our specialists via phone numbers, listed on a web-page, or send a request on info@sb-sb.com

Our specialists consider each request individually and will be able to provide qualified advice on your individual requests.
We will offer you a large selection of countries where we have experience: Bahamas, Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Jersey, Malta, Luxembourg.

For over five years we have been consulting our clients, CIS residents, in the field of corporate law, international tax planning, finance, international licensing and integrated business support in more than 40 countries.

Need Help?

Call us on +38 (044) 379-30-62

Write us info@sb-sb-com

Our managers will assist you and answer your questions
Write Us or call +38  044  379-30-62

РЕГИСТРАЦИЯ ИНВЕСТИЦИОННОГО ФОНДА НА БРИТАНСКИХ ВИРГИНСКИХ ОСТРОВАХ (BVI)

Оффшорные юрисдикции не перестают привлекать внимание владельцев разных видов бизнеса своим лояльным отношением к вопросам налогообложения и практически полным отсутствием регулирования.

Тем не менее, в мире финансов Британские Виргинские Острова (БВО) занимают не последнее место как юрисдикция для регистрации инвестиционных фондов. В этой статье мы рассмотрим основные виды фондов, а также преимущества и недостатки каждого.

Безусловно, с таким вопросом как выбор юрисдикции для организации фонда лучше обращаться к опытным профессионалам за юридической помощью.

Согласно законодательству БВО, регулирующего процесс регистрации и лицензирования фондов, можно выделить четыре основных типа фондов:

1) Фонд-инкубатор (a BVI incubator fund), для которого не требуется наличия администратора, инвестиционного менеджера, прайм брокера/депозитария или аудитора. Для инкубационного фонда ограничено количество инвесторов (не более двадцати, которые должны быть квалифицированными), также максимальный объем активов, которые могут находиться в управлении фонда, не должен превышать 20 000 000 USD. Срок лицензии не может превышать два года, при этом пролить лицензию можно максимум на 12 месяцев.

2) Авторизированный фонд (a BVI approved fund). Для этого вида фонда также не требуется инвестиционного менеджера, прайм брокера/депозитария или аудитора, но есть требование к наличию лицензированного администратора. Инвестора не обязательно должны быть квалифицированными, но их общее количество не должно также превышать двадцать, а общий объем активов, которыми может управлять фонд, не должен превышать 100 000 000 USD.

Нужна помощь в выборе юрисдикции для вашего фонда?

Звоните нам по телефону +38 (044) 379-30-62 и пишите на info@sb-sb-com

3) Профессиональный фонд (a BVI professional fund) может управлять неограниченным объемом активов, для этого типа фонда отсутствуют какие либо ограничения по количеству инвесторов. Однако такой фонд должен назначить инвестиционного менеджера (за исключением случаев получения освобождения), прайм брокера/депозитария, а также аудитора и администратора. Минимальный размер инвестиций должен составлять не менее 100 000 USD. Кроме этого инвестора должны подписать декларации, подтверждающую их квалификацию как «профессиональных инвесторов» (о том, что их чистый годовой доход составляет 1 000 000 USD или больше).

4) Частный фонд (a private fund) может управлять неограниченным объемом активов, к нему отсутствуют требования к минимальному размеру подписки (минимальная инвестиция), но так же, как и в профессиональном фонде, требуется назначить инвестиционного менеджера (за исключением случаев получения освобождения), прайм брокера/депозитария, а также аудитора и администратора. Для частного фонда предусмотрены следующие ограничения: общее количество акционеров не может превышать 50 или количество приглашений инвесторам с предложением проинвестировать в фонд не может превышать трехсот. При этом директора фонда должны будут подтвердить то, что такие приглашения были сделаны исключительно в частном порядке.

ОРГАНИЗАЦИОННО ПРАВОВАЯ ФОРМА ЧАСТНОГО И ПРОФЕССИОНАЛЬНОГО ФОНДА БВО

Наиболее распространенным фондом на БВО является профессиональный фонд, который может насчитывать неограниченное количество инвесторов и пользоваться специальным освобождением от авторизирования, т.е. фонд может начинать свою деятельность до момента получения разрешения от и Комиссии по регулированию рынков финансовых услуг БВО (далее Комиссия) при условии, что заявка на получение разрешения будет подана в Комиссию в течении 14 дней с момента начала деятельности.

Фонд может быть зарегистрирован в форме компании, партнерства или паевого траста. Общим требованием является наличие минимум двух директоров, которые должны быть физическими лицами. При этом отсутствуют требования к резидентности директоров, что означает, что директором фонда может стать резидент любого государства, за исключением тех, с которыми БВО не сотрудничает, например, страны из списка FATF.

Вам могут быть интересны публикации:

1. Где регистрировать хедж-фонды?

2. Хедж-фонды в Европе. Мальта

Как правило, фонд выпускает два вида акций: голосующие, привилегированные акции, не дающие права на долю прибыли, но предполагающие получение фиксированных дивидендов (voting, non-participating share class), и неголосующие, участвующие акции (participating class). Голосующие акции выдаются на имя инвестиционного менеджера для обеспечения  контроля над акционерами, что подразумевает в т.ч. назначение директоров, выплаты дивидендов (если применимо), добровольную ликвидацию. Неголосующие акции выпускаются для инвесторов и участвую в активах компании при погашении, распределении (если применимо) или ликвидации.

Следует также отметить, что организовывая фонд на БВО нет необходимости открывать физический офис, достаточным будет назначить официального представителя, который будет действовать как посредник в общении между фондом и Комиссией по регулированию рынков финансовых услуг БВО, а также будет уполномочен получать документы и уведомления от имени фонда.

Финансовую отчетность фонд должен подавать в Комиссию ежегодно не позднее 6 месяцев с момента окончания финансового года.

Налоговая отчетность подается ежегодно до 31 января каждого года.

Кроме этого фонд обязан уведомлять Комиссию о любых изменениях в составе директоров, акционеров и т.д. в течении 14 дней.

ОСОБЕННОСТИ АВТОРИЗИРОВАННОГО ФОНДА И ФОНДА-ИНКУБАТОРА

Основным преимуществом фонда-инкубатора является в первую очередь значительная экономия при его организации и в поддержании, поскольку, в отличии от частного или профессионального фондов, к нему отсутствуют требования к назначению аудитора и администратора. Возможным недостатком фонда является ограничение по количеству инвесторов, которых может быть не более двадцати, а минимальная инвестиция для каждого инвестора должна составлять 20 000 USD.

Ещё одним недостатком данного типа фонда является ограниченный срок его деятельности. Как упоминалось выше, фонд-инкубатор может вести деятельность не более трех лет (при условии продления разрешения по истечению двух лет). По завершению данного периода фонд-инкубатор должен или преобразоваться в авторизированный фонд, частный или профессиональный фонд, или же прекратить свою деятельность.

Что касается авторизированного фонда, то срок его деятельности не ограничен, но есть требования назначить администратора, а также они ограничены двадцатью инвесторами и общий объем активов фонда не должен превышать 100 000 000 USD. Тем не менее, авторизированный фонд представляет собой экономию средств по сравнению с частными и профессиональными фондами, поскольку он не требует аудитора и для авторизированного фонда предусмотрена более простая процедура закрытия.

Как авторизированный фонд, так и фонд-инкубатор могут трансформироваться в частный или профессиональный фонд после превышения установленных лимитов по активам. Для этих видов фондов также не обязательным является составление предложения о размещении ценных бумаг, а в случае его отсутствия каждому инвестору должно быть направлено письменное инвестиционное предупреждение.


Кроме этого, для фонда-инкубатора и авторизированного фонда отсутствуют требования к подаче налоговой отчетности. Тем не менее они обязаны вести и подавать неаудированную бухгалтерскую отчетность. Такие фонды обязаны только уведомлять Комиссию про изменения, которые происходят в составе самого фонда.

Также как частные и профессиональные фонды, авторизированные фонды и фонды инкубаторы должны назначить местного представителя на БВО.

СТОИМОСТЬ И СРОКИ РЕГИСТРАЦИИ ФОНДА НА БВО

Как показывает практика, сроки регистрации фонда на БВО могут довольно сильно варьироваться в зависимости от многих факторов. В среднем процедура может занимать от 3 до 10 месяцев.

Если Вам необходимо зарегистрировать фонд на БВО, пожалуйста, обращайтесь к нам по телефонам, указанным на сайте, или пишите запрос на info@sb-sb.com

Наши специалисты рассматривают каждый запрос индивидуально и смогут предоставить квалифицированную консультацию по вашим индивидуальным запросам.

Мы предложим вам большой выбор стран, где мы имеем опыт работы: Багамы, Каймановы острова, Британские Виргинские острова, Джерси, Мальта, Люксембург.

Уже более пяти лет мы консультируем наших клиентов, резидентов СНГ, в сфере корпоративного права, международного налогового планирования, финансов, международного лицензирования и комплексного сопровождения бизнеса более, чем в 40 странах мира.

наши менеджеры проконсультируют и ответят на любые вопросы
пишите нам или звоните +38  044  379-30-62